Centre nominates seven RBI Directors across various PSBs


The Government has nominated seven Directors, commonly known as RBI Directors, to the board of various Public Sector Banks (PSBs).

Nominations of these directors have been given under the Banking Companies (Acquisition and Transfer of Undertakings) Act 1970, by the Central Government,  on the recommendation of the banking regulator Reserve Bank of India (RBI).

These directors are generally known as ‘RBI directors’ as most of them are RBI officials, holding expertise in banking regulations and supervision, appointed under Section 9(3)(c) of the law.

The list of nominees include R Kesavan in Canara Bank (in place of Ms Uma Shankar), S.C.Murmu in Bank of India (in place of R Sebastian), Arun Kumar Singh in Union Bank of India (in place of A.K.Misra), Thomas Mathew in Central Bank of India (in place of Sekhar Bhatnagar), G.P.Borah in Syndicate Bank (in place of R N Kar), S K Panigrahy in Indian Bank (in place of J K Dash) and Sadhana Varma in United Bank of India (in place of Arnab Roy).

"Exciting news! Elets Banking & Finance Post is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!

Elets The Banking and Finance Post Magazine has carved out a niche for itself in the crowded market with exclusive & unique content. Get in-depth insights on trend-setting innovations & transformation in the BFSI sector. Best offers for Print + Digital issues! Subscribe here➔ www.eletsonline.com/subscription/

Get a chance to meet the Who's who of the Banking & Finance industry. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook, connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram & Pinterest.