NSE chief Ashok Chawla resigns

Ashok ChawlaIn response to the recent legal proceedings Ashok Chawla has resigned as the Chairman of National Stock Exchange (NSE).

On Friday, the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) informed a special CBI court that it received the sanction from the Centre for prosecuting five people including current and former bureaucrats in the Aircel-Maxis case including Chawla.

As per the media reports,  Ashok Jha, former economic affairs secretary, Kumar Sanjay Krishna, a former joint secretary in the finance ministry, Dipak Kumar Singh, former director in the Ministry of Finance and Ram Sharan, former under secretary in the finance ministry are the others named  in the prosecution. Out of the five named by the CBI, three are associated with various government departments while two have retired.

Earlier, the court granted two months time to the CBI for getting the sanction from the apex bodies. On July 19, the CBI had filed a charge sheet naming P Chidambaram, former Union Minister and his son Karti along with 10 individuals (including public servants) and six companies for their alleged involvement in the Aircel-Maxis deal case.

In May 2016, Ashok Chawla took over the charge as chairman of NSE from S B Mathur.

Elets The Banking and Finance Post Magazine has carved out a niche for itself in the crowded market with exclusive & unique content. Get in-depth insights on trend-setting innovations & transformation in the BFSI sector. Best offers for Print + Digital issues! Subscribe here➔ www.eletsonline.com/subscription/

Get a chance to meet the Who's who of the Banking & Finance industry. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook, connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram & Pinterest.