Centre compulsorily retires 15 senior I-T officers over charges of corruption

Narendra Modi

Narendra ModiThe Narendra Modi- led government has issued marching orders to  15 Commissioner-level officials of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs on account of alleged corruption charges.

The officials retired by the government include the ranks of the principal commissioner, commissioner, additional commissioner, deputy commissioner, joint commissioner, and assistant commissioner.


The move comes a week after the government had ordered the retirement of 12 senior income tax officers on charges of corruption and professional misconduct.

As per the Finance Ministry, these officials are Anup Srivastava (Principal Commissioner), Atul Dikshit (Commissioner), Sansar Chand (Commissioner), G Sree Harsha (Commissioner), Vinay Brij Singh (Commissioner) and ten others.

The orders issued by the Finance Ministry have mentioned  Rule 56 (j) of the Fundamental Rules. Based on this rule, the President retires these officials with immediate effect.

The list also includes an IRS officer in the post of commissioner (Appeal) in Noida, who was accused of sexual harassment. Another IRS officer who has been given an order of compulsory retirement had acquired movable and immovable assets worth over Rs 3.17 crore in the name of the self and his family members.

These movable and immovable properties had allegedly been acquired by him abusing his official position.


The Banking & Finance Post is an initiative of Elets Technomedia Pvt Ltd, existing since 2003.
Now, Elets' YouTube channel, a treasure of premier innovation-oriented knowledge-conferences and awards, is also active. To Subscribe Free, Click Here.

Get a chance to meet the Who's who of the NBFCs and Insurance industry. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook, connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram & Pinterest.