Home News Centre names two new members on RBI board

Centre names two new members on RBI board

Reserve Bank of India

The Central Government on Wednesday appointed Sachin Chaturvedi and Revathy Iyer on the central board of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI).

Reserve Bank of IndiaCentre made these appointments after altering the term of Nachiket Mor, who had been granted a second term under the NDA government last year.

While Chaturvedi is appointed as the Director General at the Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), a New Delhi-based autonomous thinktank, Iyer is a former bureaucrat.

These appointments were made in adherence were made in adherence section 8 (1) (b) of the RBI Act, which authorises the Centre to nominate four directors from each of the four local boards of the RBI. Despite the appointment, Mor continues to be a member of the eastern local area board.

Sources reveal that Mor’s removal is unprecedented as traditionally the government has waited for directors to complete their term before replacing them. He was earlier associated with ICICI Bank. He was appointed to the regulatory body’s board by the previous government during Raghuram Rajan’s tenure as governor.

"Exciting news! Elets Banking & Finance Post is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!

Elets The Banking and Finance Post Magazine has carved out a niche for itself in the crowded market with exclusive & unique content. Get in-depth insights on trend-setting innovations & transformation in the BFSI sector. Best offers for Print + Digital issues! Subscribe here➔ www.eletsonline.com/subscription/

Get a chance to meet the Who's who of the Banking & Finance industry. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook, connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram & Pinterest.